4 seek southwest Georgia House seat in special election

September 23, 2019 - 4:50 pm

ATLANTA (AP) — Two southwest Georgia mayors are among those seeking a state House seat in a special election.

Voters will go to the polls Nov. 5 to choose a successor to Ed Rynders, a Republican who resigned.

Qualifying closed Wednesday with three Republicans and one Democrat entering the race. The Republicans include Leesburg Mayor Jim Quinn, Sylvester Mayor Bill Yearta and national guardsman Tyler Johnson. The only Democrat to qualify was retiree Mary Egler of Leesburg.

All candidates will run together on a single ballot with party affiliations listed.

The district includes Lee and Worth counties and part of Sumter County.

Early voting begins Oct. 14. A runoff would be Dec. 3 if no one gets a majority

The winner will fill the remainder of Rynders' two-year term, facing re-election in 2020.

AP Editorial Categories: 
Comments ()