Clemson's Wilkins Up For Top Scholar-Athlete

Among thirteen finalists

Patrick Gentry
October 31, 2018 - 3:24 pm

Clemson defensive tackle Christian Wilkins and Notre Dame linebacker Drue Tranquill are among the 13 finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, given to college football's top scholar-athlete.

The other finalists announced Wednesday are:

  • Kenneth Brinson, linebacker, Army
  • Taryn Christion, quarterback, South Dakota State
  • De'Arius Christmas, linebacker, Grambling State
  • D'Cota Dixon, safety, Wisconsin
  • Ryan Finley, quarterback, North Carolina State
  • Piercen Harnish, linebacker, St. Francis, Indiana
  • Trace McSorley, quarterback, Penn State
  • Dalton Risner, tackle, Kansas State
  • Max Scharping, tackle, Northern Illinois
  • Eric Stevenson, linebacker, Wheaton
  • Easton Stick, quarterback, North Dakota State

The finalists, chosen from all levels of the college football, receive $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. The winner will be announced Dec. 4 at the National Football Foundation's and College Hall Fame's induction ceremony and awards dinner in New York. The winner receives an additional $7,000 in scholarship money.

Past winners of the Campbell Trophy, which was established by the NFF in 1990, include Peyton Manning and Tim Tebow.

Comments ()