Finalists announced for 2017-18 Greenville County school teacher

Winner announced in August

Ed Jenson
March 30, 2017 - 4:29 pm

Ten finalists have been selected in the 2017-18 Greenville County Schools Teacher of the Year program. They are, in alphabetical order

Suzanne Billings, 4th Grade, Plain Elementary School

Jeremy Bowen, Mathematics, J.L. Mann High Academy

Scott Buhr, Physics/Earth Science, Hillcrest High School

David Dejesa, Social Studies/Speech and Debate, Riverside High School

Anjosia Ellerbe, Business Education, Wade Hampton High School

Chancey Greco, English Language Arts, Greenville Middle Academy

Ashley Jenkins, World History, Woodmont High School

Lauren Long, English, Hillcrest Middle School

Thomas McAuliff, 3rd Grade, Taylors Elementary School

Erin Rigot, Communications, League Middle Academy


The process of selecting the ten finalists began last fall when schools and centers selected their individual Teacher of the Year. These teachers submitted applications which included a professional biography, educational history and professional development, community involvement, philosophy of teaching, education issues and trends, the teaching profession, and a personal message to educators and the general public.


Applications were reviewed by a Screening Committee and a Selection Committee. The Selection Committee will choose the next Teacher of the Year after participating in classroom observations and individual interviews with the Top Ten. The announcement naming Greenville County’s 2017-18 Teacher of the Year will be made in August.

Comments ()