Top 10 Finalists

2020-21 GCS Teacher of the Year

Emily Gill
April 09, 2020 - 5:07 pm

Greenville County Schools Superintendent Burke Royster surprised ten GCS teachers via Zoom today, telling them they have been named finalists for the 2020-21 GCS Teacher of the Year!

The finalists are, in alphabetical order:

Chris Beyerle

Chris Beyerle, Gateway to Technology, Dr. Phinnize J. Fisher Middle School

Angelica Childes

Angelica Childes, 3rd Grade, Summit Drive Elementary School

Starr Gillespie

Starr Gillespie, 7th Grade Social Studies, Tanglewood Middle School

Matthew Large

Matthew Large, Mathematics, Wade Hampton High School

Zoren Rierson

Zoren Rierson, Special Education, Travelers Rest High School

Caitlin Scott

Caitlin Scott, Band, Woodmont Middle School

Alison Taylor

Alison Taylor, 1st Grade, Mitchell Road Elementary School

Tamara Uria

Tamara Uria, English as a Second Language (ESOL), Greenville Middle Academy

Cyndi Waddell

Cyndi Waddell, Dance, Stone Elementary Academy

Stephanie White

Stephanie White, 5th Grade, Cherrydale Elementary School

The process of selecting the ten finalists began last fall when schools and centers selected their individual Teacher of the Year.  

Applications were reviewed by a Screening Committee and a Selection Committee.

Congratulations to these outstanding teachers!

All pictures courtesy of Greenville County Schools


Got a story for 106.3 WORD? Contact Emily Gill at

Comments ()